View our map of the cathedral archives, libraries and collections in Great Britain and Ireland which are members of CALCA.

Bath Abbey Library and Archives

Blackburn Cathedral

Bristol Cathedral

Canterbury Cathedral Library and Archives

Carlisle Cathedral Library

Chester Cathedral Library

Chelmsford Cathedral Library and Archives

Chichester Cathedral Library

Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin, Library and Archives

Durham Cathedral Library and Archives

Ely Cathedral Library and Archives

Exeter Cathedral Library and Archives

Gloucester Cathedral Archives and Library

Guildford Cathedral Library and Archives

Hereford Cathedral Library and Archives

Lambeth Palace Library

Lichfield Cathedral Library

Lincoln Cathedral Library

Liverpool Cathedral Archives and Library

Manchester Cathedral Archives

Norwich Cathedral Library

Norwich – Cathedral of St John the Baptist Library

Oxford – Christ Church Cathedral Library

Peterborough Cathedral Library and Archives

Portsmouth Cathedral

Ripon Cathedral at the Leeds University Brotherton Library

Rochester Cathedral Library

Salisbury Cathedral Library and Archives

Southwell Minster Historic Chapter Library

St Alban’s Cathedral Archives and Library

St Andrew’s Cathedral, Inverness

St Anne’s Cathedral, Belfast, Archives

St David’s Cathedral Library

St Edmundsbury Cathedral Library

St George’s Chapel, Windsor, Archives and Chapter Library

St Mary’s Cathedral, Edinburgh

St Patrick’s Cathedral, Armagh

St. Paul’s Cathedral Collections

Truro Cathedral, Bishop Philpotts Library

Wakefield Cathedral

Wells Cathedral Library and Archives

Westminster Abbey Library and Muniment Room

Winchester Cathedral Library

Worcester Cathedral Library

York Minster Historic Collections

Other Links

Many diocesan archives are held in local record offices. The National Archives Discovery catalogue is a good starting point for searching out these and this link takes you to their corporate name search page. To search for diocesan archives enter the name e.g. ely diocese.

The website of the  Religious Archives Group of the Archives and Recrods Association provides useful information and guidance  for those working in this area.

The CCB Library is the most important single collection in the UK of books and other material dedicated solely to ecclesiastical architecture, art, design and liturgy. Formerly held at Church House, Westminster, the books are now held at Lambeth Palace Library and other material at the Church of England Record Centre. Please contact if you have any enquiries about them.

The Representative Church Body Library is the Church of Ireland’s principal repository for archives and manuscripts.

The Archives of the Province of York are held at the Borthwick Institute at York University.

Marsh’s Library, Dublin; the library of Archbishop Narcissus Marsh.

The Hurd Library at Hartlebury Castle; founded in 1783 by Richard Hurd, Bishop of Worcester.